Award Scheme

Cub Scout Award Scheme

The Cub Scout Award Scheme has three parts:

  • Boomerang Scheme
  • Achievement Badge Scheme
  • Grey Wolf Award


The Boomerang Scheme is the major part of Cub Scout training and is the method that helps to achieve self-responsibility, outdoor Scouting, aims and principles, awareness, values, creativity and world awareness.

There are three Boomerang levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Each Boomerang level has 14 parts. For each Boomerang, parts one to seven must be completed and of parts eight to 14, three must be completed. You can do the tasks in any order, except for number seven – Promise and Law – which must be completed last and signed off by your Cub Scout Leader.

The 14 tasks that need to be completed with the first seven being compulsory are:

  • 1. Health and First Aid (Responsibility for Self)
  • 2. Safety (Responsibility for Self)
  • 3. Ropes (Outdoor Scouting)
  • 4. Outdoor Scouting (Outdoor Scouting)
  • 5. Our Cub Scout Traditions (Scouting Aims and Principles).
  • 6. Symbols of Australia (Growing Awareness of Local Community)
  • 7. Promise and Law (Values of Scouting)
  • 8. Fitness (Pursuits and Interests & Responsibility for Self)
  • 9. People and Cultures (Growing Awareness of Wider World)
  • 10. Scientific Discovery (The World Around Us)
  • 11. The Natural Environment (The World Around Us)
  • 12. Self Expression (Creativity)
  • 13. Handcraft (Creativity)
  • 14. Your Community (Growing Awareness of Local Community)

Silver Boomerang

If you join Cub Scouts around 9 years of age, you will probably start your journey through the award scheme with the Silver Boomerang. The tasks are more challenging than the Bronze Boomerang but build on the skills that Cubs have already learned with the Bronze Boomerang.

Gold Boomerang

If you join Cub Scouts around 10 years of age, you will probably start your journey through the award scheme with the Gold Boomerang. The tasks are more challenging than the Bronze and Silver Boomerangs but build on the skills that Cubs have already learned with these two previous stages.

Achievement badges give you the opportunity to concentrate on your areas of interest. There are 34 badges to choose from. Each badge has two levels and the Cub chooses which level they would like to achieve. There are four groups of Achievement badges consisting of the following badges for each:

Arts and Literature

Art and Design; Entertainer; Handcraft; Handyworker; Literature; Masks and Sculpture; Musician; Photography.

Nature, Science and Technology

Animals and Birds; Bushcraft; Codes and Signals; Engineer; Flight; Gardener; Information Technology; Naturalist; Scientist; Space; Weather.

Sports and Recreation
Athlete; Canoeing; Collector; Cooking; Cyclist; Fishing; Pets; Sailing; Sports; Swimmer

Our World
Citizenship; First Aider; International Culture; Traveller; World Friendship

Remember that to achieve the Grey Wolf Award, four Level Two Achievement Badges must be earned, one from each of the four categories or groups.


As well as the Achievement Badges, one can earn a number of special interest badges. You will need one of these for your Grey Wolf Award. These badges are:

Landcare Badge
Local History Badge
Waterwise Badge
Their Service – Our Heritage Badge
Language Emblem
Faith Awareness Badge
World Conservation Badge
Cub Scout Leadership Course Badge


This is the pinnacle of the Cub Scout Section. The requirements for earning the Grey Wolf Award are:

1. Gold Boomerang Badge.

2. Have participated in a minimum of four outdoor activities in the past 12 months.
(a) One of which must be an overnight camp.
(b) One should be an interpack activity.
(c) Using a map, plan and lead a bushwalk of at least two hours duration with your leader and a group of Cub Scouts (3-6 youth members).

3. In the past 12 months have attended two Pack Councils.

4. Have completed four Level Two Achievement Badges (one from each category) and have completed one Special Interest Badge.

5. Develop and present a resource for your Six or Pack based on your understanding of the Jungle Books. Suggestions: A game (active, board or card); skit/play, puppets or a booklet; a shoebox diorama.


The Scout Link Badge links the Cub to the next step in their journey, the Scout Section. The Scout Leader and a Patrol Leader from the Scout Section jointly carry out the training and testing for this badge. There are eight requirements for this badge. Arrangements and details about linking Cub Scouts usually occurs through the Cub Scout Leader at Group Council and by the Cub Scout making contact with the Scout Leader.